The Shit Patina Cleanse 2017

We may need a friendlier name for the trip, I’d hate to turn people away right off the bat…

So here we go again! Barbara and I are heading back to the UK. It’s coming up real soon, like this coming up Wednesday. We’re looking at it as a way to wash the stink of Trump’s America off of us. Not that the UK hasn’t had it’s share of right wing, xenophobic reactionism. Western civilization is afraid of brown people, it seems. Last year, when we ran into curious folk in Ireland and Scotland, we felt pretty confident in reassuring them that the cheese colored gas bad wasn’t gonna be running the free world. Wow, were we wrong. Hopefully we’re not immediately shunned upon arriving at Heathrow. We have many apologies to hand out #fucktrump!


This time around we’re spending a few days in London, taking in a movie in a fancy ass luxury theater as well as traditional theater. We then take an overnight sleeper train to Fort William, Scotland. We’ll be hanging out in the highlands for a couple days, see the Isle of Skye, and maybe a distillery or two. We then head head to Edinburgh, Scotland. We loved it so much the last time, we figured there’s gotta be more to see. Besides, a visit to Scotland isn’t complete without a few glorious breakfasts at Mum’s Great Comfort Food. I can already feel my arteries clogging! From there we fly over to Belfast, Northern Ireland where we’re staying in a swanky penthouse with a wrap around balcony. According to the AirBnB, it’s got an amazing view. No clue what one does when visiting Belfast, but I”m sure we’ll figure it out. We’ll then head back to London where we’ll catch a plane back to our American Hell. If we’re lucky, maybe DampNuts will be in the throws of a full on impeachment effort. One can only dream. 
As with all my previous trips, I will update this blog as often as possible. I got a bit overly ambitious on the last trip and it kind of overwhelmed me. I drank too much. I ate too much. I enjoyed life to hard. I couldn’t keep up the pace. This time around I’m going to try something different. I’m going to shoot a lot of video and edit little snippets togehter for the blog. I’ll mix in some photos and 360 video as well as my usual snarky commentary. Stay tuned!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in UK 2017, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Shit Patina Cleanse 2017

  1. Barbara says:

    Can’t wait! We have 4 days in the Highlands. And planning on Giant’s Causeway while we’re in Belfast, along with possibly some Game of Thrones locations. And yeah… Maybe we should rethink the name. Rexit2?

Leave a Reply

