Day 5…The Rochester Hotel!


At some point I’ll catch up with the blogging. I’ve got plenty of time on my hands, as my bike is once again in the shop! It’s Saturday night on July 30th and I’m told the bike will be ready on Tuesday August 2nd. Damn shops are always closed on Sunday and Monday, leaving me stranded in Chicago. That ride home to Reno is going to be severely contracted. Not looking forward to 500 mile days. My throttle hand is starting to cramp at the thought of it.

Back to Durango! The Fun Center has lured me into a false sense of security with their hasty repairs. Yes, the Kawasaki dealer was called the Fun Center. Nothing fun about that experience. I need to spend the rest of my day in drunken luxury. 

The Rochester Hotel! I can’t put enough words together to express how much I enjoyed my experience here. It’s one of the few hotels I’ve stayed in that feels like it’s actually worth the money. It’s an old building that’s been painstakingly  rehabbed. The owners have put a lot of effort into all the little details. I walked into the hotel and was greeted by the owner. He listened to an abbreviated story of my life, smiled and called over to a bell boy to go out to my bike and bring my things up to the room. He then suggested I step out into the Secret Garden and have a cocktail and enjoy the free concert. I did exactly that!​​

​​

Not sure the name of the band, but they’re locals. They mostly performed cover songs, one of which was Riders On the Storm. Seemed appropriate for the day I’ve had. 


My first cocktail of the evening was a jalapeño watermelon margarita! Spicy and refreshing. I loved it. The whole shindig was a fundraiser for some women’s group. I’m an asshole for not actually giving a damn as to which organization it was for. I was tired and hungry and wore out. They at least got three drinks worth of donations out of me that night. 

I was impressed by this enormous tree smack dab in the middle of the Secret Garden. It served as shelter from the rain that had just started to pick up. Said rain did nothing to stop the band nor the partygoers. I love these people! 

At some point I brought up the question of food. The woman serving drinks, a Mango Lemonade vodka concoction, recommended Cyprus, across the street. Mediterranean fusion. Sold! I pounded the lemonade and stumbled into the street.

 I coulda sat inside, but then I wouldn’t have been able hear the jazz band playing the Star Wars theme song and other film scores. I ordered a local beer and the cold watermelon soup to start.

Holy shit, watermelon soup is the absolute bomb. It’s a priority when I get home to find a recipe that approximates what I experienced at Cyprus. So refreshing with a bit of spicy bite. 

The entree is a pork tenderloin with potatoes and some delicious green sludge. It is so far out of my memory that I can’t recall the specific details. My field notes have betrayed me or I was too hammered and hungry to bother with trifling details! Know that it was damn good. Enough for me to shoot video to be edited together at a later date!

Peach and white chocolate panacatta served in a martini glass. This was smooth and refreshing, not too sweet. Everything served to me so far has been like that. No need for emergency tums or doubling down on the Prilosec in the morning. 

The rest of the evening is spent spent shooting another episode of Bat! The Burden. Figured a change of locale could do the series some good. Ok, it’s because I didn’t have a campfire around and I was bored. It’s weird how I can long for peace and quiet after a long stressful day and then as soon as I get just that, I lose my shit and need to do something RIGHT NOW! Can’t sit still! Blog needs to get written, routes need to be plotted, brain needs to worry about the goddamned chain and sprockets on the motorcycle and if they’ll make it to Chicago! Bats! Damnit!

It’s late, the hotel sign is lit up like something from a noir film, and that makes me happy. Only thing better would have been the sign flashing colored patterns onto my room’s ceiling as I sat in silhouette with a bottle of whiskey, smoking cigarettes, and. writing my memoirs.

I slept very well that night. My room is enormous, more than I’ll ever need, as it is a double queen. Was the only room available when I booked it 2 weeks ago.bled eggs and a potato cake.


I made a point of getting up in time for breakfast in the lobby. Damn good coffee with scram

Sometimes it’s the little things that make life great. I plot my course to Buena Vista, Colorado on my iPhone. It seems like a reasonable trip to fill out the rest of the day. 

I load up the thumper and spray some lube on the new chain. Really hope these hasty repairs get me to Iowa City and Chicago. The chain seems taught and there’s no lurching when I blast out of town. 


Gotta say, this portion of the trip makes me wanna take back all the shit I said about Colorado the last time I came through. 

Next stop on the Epic Ride is Buena Vista, Colorado. Nothing special there, in particular, just a couple of campsites to choose from. All these hotels are killing me financially. Funny to think about considering what life has waiting for me when I get to Chicago…

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 6: Iowa City, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

