Devil’s Tower and Too Much Time By Myself

 Devil’s Tower was cool, once again. I was here on the first Epic Ride, when I first got the Spyder. I’m running a little behind schedule since I took that extra day in Buffalo, so I had decided to just take pictures and blow on through to Sioux Falls. Besides, it was cloudy and cold all the way to the tower. Almost as soon as I got to the park it started to clear up. It became beautiful in fact. I took a hike! One of the longer ones around the tower and the ridges that surround it.  

    
    
 It was made all the more amazing when I ran into Ken Grey again. He’s the guy that was riding his road bike from Potland to Boston. What the hell? I was standing around taking pictures. I hadn’t seen a soul for like 15 minutes when a guy comes jogging up to where I was standing. He took some photos and then looked at me with total surprise. After 850 miles on the bike, he said his ass couldn’t take it. He and his wife were still going to continue the journey by car. Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture. I took video on my C100. Maybe I’ll update this entry later with the clip. 

Along the Red Bed Trail I met up with and older guy. Hauling ass through the trail. He was a talkative fella. Clarence. He was a retired pilot for Northwest. He kept a brisk pace that made me feel like an out of shape turd. Damn you Clarence!  

 After that hike I decided I’d camp here for the night. So, I decided to climb the bolder field. Easier than I’d originally thought. Coming down was the tricky part.  

    

    
  After the hike and the climbing around big rocks like a 12 year old, I was tired. Time for beer and setting up camp at the KOA. 

  

  

First thing I did was do laundry. $2.25 to wash and $2 to dry. Fucking KOA. While that was happening I took a cold goddamned dip in the pool. Two kids from North Dakota were already in the pool and lied to me about the water being “fine!” They were serious chatter boxes and clearly were never taught to not talk to strangers. Jack and Josephine. Nice kids. 

Tried to watch the Close Encounters film that they show every night at 8pm under the shadow of the tower, but the power kept cutting out. I gave up after the 2nd time. It’s always something. 

Back at the camp I was able to get a fire going with no trouble! Wee! Drank most of a 6pack of IPA and told campfire stories to instagram…

But you can see those in the previous post. Gotta hit the road. Using up my 12GB data plan already! Next stop, Chicago!!! I hope. I’m in Sioux Falls at a Perkins restaurant typing this out. Need to high tail it out of here

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 4: Chicago 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

