Yellowstone and Grand Tetons!

  I made it to the Tetons. More on that later…
First an update on Yellowstone. Had more fun than I had expected. Last time I rode through it was underwhelming. Must’ve been pissy after a long ride…nah, that never happens. 

That night at the KOA was cold as hell. It was a real challenge to keep my extremities from freezing. I woke up to see frost all over my bike.  

   Probably shouldn’t have left the helmet out. Moist foam, like wearing a dish washing sponge on your head….all day. It never dries. 
Doing laundry the that night was like a flashback to my 20s. It gave me hives thinking about being poor. 

At this point I’m hungry. Yelp told me to go here. Totally worth it, but busy as hell. Pancakes, bacon and eggs took an hour. Breakfast became lunch.  

 Siri said something like “take this road 17 miles” and then BAM! 

 Bumper to bumper traffic. Thought it was gonna be 17 miles of this to the park entrance. Thankfully it wAs 1/4 mill up. This was the actual gate line.  

 It was super relaxing until the first wave of Chinese tourist swarmed me. One guy hopped on my bike as his buddy took a picture. Said I saved him $5. A toothless older guy in the group said should’ve charged him $10. I put my shoes on and bailed. 

   
 I then came across a big group of bison and the typical Yellowstone traffic jam. That’s where people see a squirrel cross the street and every jumps out of their cars and takes pictures. So I jumped off my bike and took pictures…. 

   Saw some more stuff.  
 Ate some cafeteria food.   And eventually made it out the south entrance. 

Grand Tetons, needless to say, are gorgeous.  

 Alrighty, this restaurant in the park just got inundated by loud Chinese tourists. I can’t focus and my phone is about to die. Will continue later…

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 4: Chicago 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

