Let’s Get Back To Route Planning…

So, here’s the final route to Chicago with all its additional stops and diversions.

And here’s the route back to Reno. I decided to skip I-80 for most of it since it seems the entire Interstate is under construction. Not only is I-80 boring, but it will now be intolerably slow and hateful. I’ve decided to reroute down to U.S. 50. Hopefully it hasn’t been sullied since the last time I cruised its meandering tarmac.

It may not be the fastest or the most practical route back home, but at least it’ll be interesting. The route passes through a big white water rafting recreation area in Colorado! I should definitely give that a try.

Just another comment about Google Maps. Even though they let you drag your route around to customize it, it is not guaranteed that when you copy the link or embed the map that it will be the route that you designed. I’ve had to rebuild my Chicago to Reno route 3 or 4 times before it would give me what I wanted. It’s all the more difficult when they only allow you 10 destinations. Still can’t figure out why Google has crippled the usefulness of Maps. It is pretty much the only game in town for web based trip planning. You can use Mapquest, but it’s slow and keeps trying to insert options to buy airline tickets and rental cars and hotels. It’s intrusive and incredibly annoying.

Ok, went off on a tangent there. More Epic Ride details later this week. Maybe I’ll post pictures of how I plan to pack for the trip. Camping gear, tech, etc. I know that kind of info posted online would’ve been useful to me on previous trips.

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 4: Chicago 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Get Back To Route Planning…

  1. Looks awesome Jack! When you leaving?

  2. Beth Broadway says:

    Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

