Why Does Google Hate Us?

This afternoon I came across a hateful thing. A thing that makes no sense. A thing that I cannot work out the reasoning for. Google Maps only allows for 10 destination points when plotting a trip. A few years ago I plotted a course from Reno, NV to New York City and back, with many points of interest in-between. Today I was trying to work out a trip to Chicago with multiple way points. Glacier National Park, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, a few cities to stop and rest, Devil’s Tower, Chicago, etc. Low and behold, after the 10 way point Google Maps gives you the big FUCK YOU. Eventually I was able to pare it all down to get to where I needed to be, but, if I’d tried to recreate my New York trip I wouldn’t have been able to.

With that New York trip I was trying to take US 50 as far as I could. It’s a beautiful route through Nevada, Utah, and Colorado. None of the hustle and bustle of the interstates. Not a lot of trucks nor RVs. It’s a quiet road that passes through America’s backwater. Unfortunately, in order to get Google, or even a Garmin GPS, to plot that course, you have to know the cities and towns along the route, otherwise they’ll force you to take an interstate highway. The interstates are awful for scenic peaceful rides on a motorcycle. They’re great for interstate commerce and shortest possible trips across the belly of this country, but by god they’re boring. Full of Taco Bells and Subway sandwich crap holes and Walmarts. Fucking Walmarts, people! Whatever happened to the good old fashioned truck stop diner? Mom and Pop joints. Campgrounds instead of Best Westerns. State Parks and beautiful scenery.

Back to my point. Why does Google keep breaking shit that used to work? What monetary motivation is there in limiting my trip planning? Is there some Google Maps service that I’m expected to pay for somewhere? A version of the map app that gives me full access to feature that used to be there?

Ok, rant is over. I just paid fucking $89 for Garmin maps for my old ass GPS, this sumbitch better work after making me wait an hour and a half to download the updates. Nothing takes and hour and half to download anymore! Oh damn, I feel another rant coming on. Guess I’ll leave that for another day!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 4: Chicago 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Does Google Hate Us?

  1. Sableyes says:

    Gave up with Google and ended up Maps with me on android and noting down my own routes on paper and sticking it to the tank.maps with me is downloadable maps app for android and effectively a step up from a paper map 🙂 Old ways beat Google maps though!

    • heartajack says:

      Seems like the old fashioned ways can be more reliable, especially in areas with no cell service. I usually bring a small notebook with my route written out, campsites I plan to stay at, and approximations of how long it should take to get to each destination.

    • heartajack says:

      I’m using google maps to help me tell the Garmin GPS where to go. That thing is as bad as Google at giving you the crappiest interstate routes. I’m also writing down my destinations and campsites, just in case all my batteries die. Ha.

Leave a Reply

