Chicago 2015: Return of the Epic Ride!

It’s been a few years since the big New York trip. Riding the Can Am Spyder across the entire United States, spending some quality time in a southern jail on a traffic violation (fuck you very much Georgia!), and getting eaten alive by mosquitoes in 4 different time zones! Well, it’s time for more adventures on the road. The Spyder is now well worn and showing it’s age, yet still runs like a dream. That’s what $800 a year in maintenance gets you…

This trip is all about getting the family back to together for my brother’s birthday and 20th anniversary! Not to mention his wife surviving cancer. We’re flying my mom out and I’m taking this opportunity to put another 4000 miles on the bike. Nothing quite like 8 1/2 days of solo riding to kick my complacent ass into gear.

I’m looking at 7 hours a day of riding! Four days there and four days back, give or take a day. Rather than just a straight through I-80 run from Reno to Chicago, I’m adding the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, and my favorite, Devil’s Tower. Once in Chicago I’ll be hitting a comic con, a big party with the family, meeting up with an old high school buddy I haven’t seen in over 20 years, and then visiting with some friends I’ve neglected over the years. It’s going to be an insane marathon vacation. More work than it’s worth! Why fly when you can ride for a week in backbreaking tedium?

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 4: Chicago 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

