Adventure Bikes!

A category of motorcycles I’d never heard of before 2 weeks ago when I started shopping around for another set of wheels. The Can-Am Spyder has served me well over the last 5 years and isn’t going anywhere. I still have a ridiculous amount of fun on that beast and nothing beats it for stability in the winter season. Well, Reno winters, anyway.

Adventure bikes are similar to dual-sport or enduro bikes in that they are street legal and off-road capable. The big difference seems to be engine size and tank size. Dual sports are light and lean towards the off-road side of the riding experience. Adventure bikes are mean road machines you can load up like a pack mule and ride cross country. They can tear up trails but because of their size and weight require a bit more patience and care.

20140421-152229.jpg
This here is the top contender so far. The Triumph Tiger 800xc. It pushes all my buttons. It’s rad looking, it’s utilitarian, it’s fast, and seems to have the trail riding capabilities I’ll rarely utilize. I’m not in my 20s anymore, but I’m not dead yet, either.

One thing that worries me is my total lack of experience riding motorcycles. Although I’ve gone through the safety classes and have an M class license, I haven’t ridden a legit bike since 2009! It can’t be that hard… Right?

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

