My Webcomic!

It’s been a while since I last posted to the blog, so here’s an update. My webcomic is now live on…

Www.heartajack.com

20140115-143416.jpg
It’s called The Guardian Elite! Check it out! I’ve been working on it for the last year or so. It started as an excuse to get back into drawing. I figured the volume of illustrations needed to make a full length comic book would be the perfect project to exercise those atrophied muscles. Learning to use Photoshop as a drawing tool instead of just creating textures, adjusting photos, and beveling text, has been a real boon to my skill set.

The process has also educated me on how to write for this particular graphic medium. A combination of character bios, thumbnail page layouts, random dialogue snippets written in notebooks, all eventually collected into some script writing software. All that to bring you the transcendent and epic comic book experience that is The Guardian Elite!!! ok, maybe not transcendent…

The first pages are pretty rough. I had no clue how to go about making a digital comic. I started with really rough sketches in Photoshop that I would keep noodling until I liked what I saw. This process was really slow going and inconsistent. It required lots of erasing and reworking the lines, etc. I then went with rough sketches for the first pass, create a new layer above it, and progressively detail them up. Once done, I’d throw an adjustment layer on top of it all to make blue line art, then create another layer above and do my final clean inks. This more or less mimics real world comic book creation on paper.

The Freddie Williams book was a great resource. I also found this highly specific book by the HiFi Color guys very useful.

Anyway, check out the comic, I plan on updating weekly until I run out of material, and then update as the work gets done. Eventual goal being Comixology Submit and maybe a small print run or on-demand Lulu sort of thing. Enjoy!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

