Murrieta Hell

20120711-141718.jpg
Since breakfast at the lovely Ranch House Cafe, I dropped off the Eastern Sierra Scenic Biway to continue on what I can only imagine is the crappiest and most unpleasant stretch of road in California. I was hot, long, boring, and crowded with trucks doing 55mph. Of course the speeding ticket I got doesn’t help my demeanor. Why is it that the most remote, unpopulated areas are always where you get nailed? The cop told me I should take the damn jacket off, because it’s so damn hot. It must have really bothered him as he said it three times. Right after that I stopped in some Shell station where I shotgunned the restroom. My ass being the shotgun, if you know what I mean?

I can’t say it enough to get the point across, but it is motherfucking hot out here. I can smell the world melting. Either that or the carcinogens in my helmet are being baked out and flowing into my breathing orifices.

Here I am in blissful air conditioning at a Starbucks in Murrieta. I’m in the home stretch. An hour or so to San Diego.

20120711-143125.jpg
Time to hit the road again. I feel human again. Maybe I’ll take the copy’s advice and ditch the jacket…

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Epic Ride 3: ComiCon and the Pacific Northwest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Murrieta Hell

  1. Eddy Cameron says:

    For future epic rides you should have a “mesh” style jacket in your arsenal. Alternately, I have an Aerostitch Darien that vents incredibly well. If it’s any consolation, it’s f*cking hot in Reno too. Currently 97 with a high predicted at 102…it feels much like living inside a convection oven…only there aren’t any cookies, or bacon.

Leave a Reply

