A Cacophony

After a long four day weekend of shitty weather, purging of 20 years of junk, and a rather tedious film shoot for the return of “Chef” Jack, I am greeted at work by the ever loving “fuck you” of the blue screen memory dump on my Dell workstation. It’s becoming a regular occurrence here. Driver issues with the nVidia cards or some such shit. Unfortunately the solution is to replace them with vastly inferior AMD cards. Catch 22, I guess. So I come into my cube to see this hateful screen, I’m instantly set on a path of suck. At the same time, the megalomaniac in the cube across from me is speaking in his best theatre voice, you know, the voice that reaches the cheap seats, about some Darth Vader poster he did and how the client wants less Darth Vader…the horror. The guy next door to me is getting a rundown from some junior artist’s rock climbing weekend and I can almost sense the level of disinterest he has in all of it, but the ear splitting schoolgirl giggling from one of the game designers is echoing inside my brain space, shattering every semblance of clear thought. Somewhere a woman walks by with flip flops FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP! On top of all that, there is surreal droning music coming from one of the games in the test bed behind me. It feels like a scene in a movie where a guy is going insane, the camera angle tilts and pushes in as a montage of clips of people talking and laughing swirls around his head! Is this what it feels like to lose your mind? Have I finally gone over the edge?

Nope. The noise subsides, my Outlook pops up a meeting invite to some unholy event, and the room is filled with the keyboard clacking sounds of white collar progress. Tuesday unfolds like any other day. This is the way the world ends…

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Complaining and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

