Bad Night In Lexington, Virginia

20110808-022001.jpg
I sit here eating my MRE version of Indian food and drinking a 24oz Heineken listening to the French rock band Phoenix on the iPad it’s late and my campfire has finally died down. I can’t sleep because I’m so incredibly frustrated tonight. Slowly I’m calming down, but I’m afraid it’s going to fuck me in the morning. The day was great. Weather was perfect. I made great time, New York to Lexington Virginia. Look it up on google maps! I found a nice KOA campsite and I was still fresh, even at 9:30 pm.

This is where it all falls apart. The campsite guy shows me my site, obget off the bike, but forgot to set the brake. The Spyder suddenly starts rolling down the hill. It goes 6 feet and hits a big ass rock. Fucks up some plastic air scoops. Scrapes mostly. Nothing serious, but it pisses me off. I unpack my tent and find it soaked and stinky from my stay in Athens Ohio. It hadn’t dried after 4 days. Next up, I decide to take a shower, but I can’t find my head lamp flash light. Left it at Brian’s in Brooklyn. So I use the msg light. It keeps cutting in and out. Battery dead. I get lost leaving the shower room. I stumble in the dark looking for my campfire, since the Maglite doesn’t work. Oh, great, fire is out, but thankfully I left my lantern on. Still, I trip and try real hard to bust an ankle in one of the many drain ditches I’m the camp ground. Finally, back at my site. I got lucky, I think to myself, the guy gave me a site with electrical hookups! I can charge my shit. As it turns out, my AC/DC charger unit miraculously broke itself. Doesn’t work! I do with it like I’ve done with half a dozen AppleTV remote, I throw it at the ground until is satisfyingly smashes into pieces. Fuck!

Still, I forge ahead with my dinner. Some lentil dish and basmati rice. Yum. My lantern dies! All I got left is my Red Cross crank generator flash light, wishing I had someone here with me to tell me tomorrow will be better.

I sit here writing this blog because I can at least serve as a warning to others. Always bring a crank flash light and an iPad, the battery on that thing lasts forever! I can be miserable in the dark with the comforting sounds of French rock n roll. 20110808-021837.jpg

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Can-Am Spyder, Epic Ride 2: The Quickening, motorcycle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

