I Thought the Heat Was Bad Yesterday

Brutal day. It was so fucking miserably hot and wet today. I’m typing this in the comfort of a super cold motel room. The AC is busting out the chills. Love it. I can’t sleep because I’m letting the one true sign of civilization work its magic over me. Harrison Ford was right when he built that giant refrigerator in the jungle in The Mosquito Coast.

When driving at 85 mph isn’t enough to counter the heat, you know you’re in trouble. It was so desperately shitty, that I couldn’t be bothered to document my journeys through Kansas and part of Iowa. I probably checked in a few times on facebook.

I made it to a rest stop or two. I took a cool photo with Hipstamatic. The heat didn’t completely ruin my sense of hipterism.

20110727-010909.jpg

I was able to marvel at an offensively conservative state embracing a progressive approach to energy.

20110727-011049.jpg

I only say offensively conservative because I saw a ridiculous billboard today showing a spooky evilly lit photo of Obama with the words Wannae Marxist Dictator next to it. These people are fucking nuts.

I made it to Salina, KS, which I was supposed to be at yesterday. Missed that schedule 4 hours or so. Whoops. My one photo of that town…

20110727-011640.jpg

And I made it to Kansas City, Missouri, where I had dinner at the Waffle House. It was the least offensive restaurant out of all the chain restaurants that are taking over the world. It was that or the Steak n Shake.

20110727-012034.jpg

20110727-012049.jpg

20110727-012056.jpg

T-bone steak and eggs. A bit gristly, but not a deal breaker.

At some point during the day, between panic attacks at gas stations and nearly falling asleep at the “wheel” I made it to Iowa.

20110727-012338.jpg

I was still five hours away from my destination, Iowa City. I made good time, but not quite enough.

I took this cuz the bugs were so damn loud!

20110727-013320.jpg

My night is ending. I look forward to hanging out with Bill tomorrow and seeing Capt America!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Can-Am Spyder, Epic Ride 2: The Quickening, motorcycle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

