Crippling Heat and Boredom

After the freaky encounters at the rest stop I had had enough with the world. I decided to find a motel. Turned out to be Motel 6 at the other end of Colby. $55 for this!

20110726-113928.jpg

20110726-114252.jpg

Ok, wasn’t all bad…well, the AC unit sounded like an F-16 taking off and would randomly turn on in the middle of the night, causing serious freak outs and fight or flight reactions in me. But that’s nothing new, ask my mom about how she used to wake me up when I was a teenager. She’d throw the door open, smash pots and pans together, and gallop a horse around the room. I swear to god it’s true!

20110727-120244.jpg

I did have a nice view of the parking lot and my precious. My precious!

20110726-114917.jpg

<a

Yes please! After that grueling ride through the mountains and the rain pouring down on me, and the diesel fumes, I'm pretty sure I smelled like a hobo dragged through an oil refinery. Ugh.

20110726-115924.jpg

Refreshed after a frustratingly weak water shower, I crashed pretty hard.

The next morning I got the hell out of the motel. I had to make up precious time, I packed the bike. I realized I had lost my iPod. Fuck. I checked the room. Nothing. Fuck. 80GB iPod lost in Kansas somewhere. Off I go, pissed off.

20110727-120947.jpg

20110727-120959.jpg

One thing I noticed last year was that all the cool truck stops had been replaced by Subway Sandwich joints. So depressing. This trip I saw a lot of gas stations closed. Wtf? I was getting hungry after an hour or so on the road, I found this goofy steakhouse and god knows what this other freaky joint was. I decided steak was too heavy to start the day. I ended up in this fine establishment…

20110727-121443.jpg

20110727-121458.jpg

The joint was empty. There were Christmas trees adorned with American flags all around the place. Weird. The menu had 5 dishes. I ordered the House Special.

20110727-121721.jpg

I won’t say it was great, but I won’t say it was awful, either. Really hard to fuck up eggs and hash browns. As I was pound cup after cup of coffee, I remembered I hadn’t taken my Prilosec. I ran out to the bike. The trunk was tricky to open, like it was snagged on something…

20110727-122018.jpg

20110727-122026.jpg

Woo hoo! This day was already turning around. Too bad that’s not entirely true, I had a full day of Kansas to bore the shit out of me. And to sweat the vital fluids out of me. You could cut the humidity with a fork.

Ok, I’ve rambled on long enough for the day. Only 3 of you will have the attention span long enough to read this crap.

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Can-Am Spyder, Epic Ride 2: The Quickening, motorcycle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crippling Heat and Boredom

  1. greg says:

    Glad you found the ipod…crusing with no tunz would of sucked.

Leave a Reply

