Neighbors Are Simple Or Brilliant

It seems that not a day goes by without my neighbors across the street going apeshit about something. Whether it’s the adults howling and screaming at the current sports banality on tv or their shut-in kids screeching like banshees and laughing hysterically while tossing sticks around the yard on the rare days they’re allowed out. The crazy toothless rednecks that live next to them periodically get in on the action when they’re not slamming doors raving at each other or entertaining drag queens. It’s always a party over there on that side of the street.

Are most people in America enjoying every day like these people? Am I missing something? Most days I find it hard to want to get up. Are these people simpletons that get enormous amounts of pleasure from watching American Idol and big corporate ad fests they call sporting events? Maybe they’re brilliant souls that know the secrets of life and live for the day as if it’s their last. Wasn’t that the plot of Dead Poets Society? I hear them nightly and sometimes wonder what it would be like to be able to enjoy a football game and look forward to the company of my toothless redneck neighbors. Who’s in the better position? Happy go lucky screaming idiots or the bored lonely guy across the street watching samurais cut each other up on AppleTV surrounded by 3 cats and a dog and drinking Jack Daniels Manhattans with no fucking maraschino cherries!

If happiness means watching sporting events and hanging with creepy tea baggers, I guess I’ll stick to JD and Samurais. The world has enough happy idiots to go around. I’ll just sit here writing self deprecating blogs about the misery of it all. That always puts a smile on my face.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neighbors Are Simple Or Brilliant

  1. Squid says:

    Ignorance is Bliss! With intelligence comes the burden of responsibility.

    • heartajack says:

      So true, Squidly. Like I’m Spider-man or something…that’s if you were referring to me as being the intelligent one. Oh god, what if you weren’t? I’d be making an ass of you and me by jumping to conclusions and assuming I knew what you meant. Damn this English language and its complexities.

  2. eddy says:

    The more I know, the happier I was.

    You just need some Maraschino Cherries, sounds like.

Leave a Reply

