Labor Day Weekend

The weekend starts with no plans, like every minor holiday that comes around. I’ve never been good at taking advantage of these 3 day weekends. A call, out of the blue, from Brian on Friday leads to us eating at the only Ethiopian restaurant in Reno, Zagol. Coral was with us too. Her first time eating Ethiopian, I believe. Not exactly the most authentic dining experience, but the food and service was quite excellent. Definitely need to explore their menu in detail.

Saturday starts with a headache and a freezing house. Why did I sleep on the couch? I mozy on out the door around noon. I’ve gotta check on Patrick, my Mom’s cat. She’s on an epic ride of her own, to Chicago, and I’m making sure her cat doesn’t starve to death or get too lonely.

Saturday slips by fairly unnoticed. Went to the movies to see Machete, which was amusing but kind of a let down. When I got home I spent a couple hours editing my movie The Jar. Nothing extraordinary, just tightened up the pacing of a scene and added some fx work to another. After seeing Machete, I wanted to make sure there’s no lulls in the flow of my film.

For my evening’s entertainment I rented A Single Man on AppleTV. The story of a British university professor in L.A. who has recently lost his lover in a car wreck. The film starts with him waking up and going through his day, with the intent of committing suicide that evening. It’s the directorial debut of the famous designer Tom Ford. I must say, a spectacular first film. Collin Firth, Julianne Moore, Matthew Goode, and Nicolas Hoult.

I only hot through an hour of the film when Brian called again! He wants to come over and hang out. As you can see, the tide of my weekend changes from moment to moment.

Brian fixed us a couple of manhattans. Damn fine manhattans. Some people will complain we’re not using proper bourbon, but I say fuck ’em!

(this is actually a photo of the aftermath)

We talk about work and how it’s spiraling into the abyss. He talks about life at UNR and it leaves me a bit envious. Talking about art leads to us watching the video of the Nada Dada performance we shot the day before I went on my Epic Ride! Brian mentions some guy that shot and edited some abysmal footage of our piece and has been posting it on Facebook. It’s truly shocking to compare his video with ours.

So, tonight, I’m going to digitize the footage so Brian and I can edit a proper version of Pyrotechnic Insanitarium LIVE at Nada Dada!

As for Labor Day…

The Rib Cookoff, that’s going on in Sparks right now, inspired me to make my own famous ribs. Well, not really famous to anyone but my mom and a few friends. I’ll swear that they’re better than anything you can get at that cookoff! Pictures will be posted tomorrow!

DAMN!

I forgot to post the pictures!!!

Ribs from Costco saved me a few bucks. $30 for 3 racks instead of $15 a rack at SaveMart.

Ribs before they spent 3 hours in the smoker!

After the long smoke they look fantastic. They go on the grill with a brushing of sauce to get a nice bubbly hot crust. Yum.

For my guests, I cut up the ribs and toss them in some more sauce. Probably not the most flattering picture…still, damn good!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

