Devils Tower or My Nerd Mecca

I almost decided to skip Devils Tower after my “meh…” reaction to Mt Rushmore. I really thought you’d be able to hike the hills around the memorial to get a close up look at the presidents’ chins. Nope. So, the fact that you can get right up on Devils Tower makes it extra fucking awesome. You need to get a permit to climb beyond the boulder line, but that because they document all technical climbing on the tower since 1937 or so.

Now here’s your postcard…

I’m getting really frustrated with the Internet connection at these goddamned KOA sites. It’s the 21st century. Cellphones and Internet have been around for a while. Join us in the future, the water is nice and has 4 bars of 3G! More tomorrow sometime.

Woke up last night and my right eye was killing me, like something had gotten in there. It was freezing cold and the tent walls were wet with condensation. I thought a bug might have been burrowing in my eye so I took some pictures go see what was up.

So there’s nothing in there, I crawled back into my bag, something brushed past my arm, and I completely freaked the fuck out. Waking up at 3am doesn’t leave me my most aware, so it was probably just a strap on my sleeping bag. Rest of the night wad uneventful, just cold and damp.

Talked to Canaduan Bob and his son Ben while packing up my site. They were rock climbing on the tower yesterday. I’m so jealous. I need to try that on the next visit. They weren’t scaling the shear columns, but some of the easier lower thirds of the tower. They had a guide that did all the hard work and it sounded like it was a blast.
More photos…

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Devils Tower or My Nerd Mecca

  1. Barbara says:

    I can hear the Close Encounters music!

  2. Kurt says:

    Los Angeles! (Slumps over and falls asleep, missing the alien laser light show)

  3. Eddy says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Close_Encounters_of_the_Third_Kind

    So cool to see it in person! The most iconic landmark (for sci-fi fans at least).

  4. Coral says:

    These photos and videos are awesome! What caused the Devil Tower? (I wish I could read the sign, but it is too small for me…> <) Sorry about your eye. What caused that? What's the temperature at night there?

  5. Bill says:

    Looks like a lot of fun. It would be neat to have an outdoor showing of Close Encounters there. I know Netflix did a tour of doing outdoor showings of movies at the locations they were at. I’m pretty sure they did Jaws and Field of Dreams. That would really help you get your geek on.

  6. Cullen says:

    Suddenly I’m in the mood for mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

