South Dakota At Last!

Just crossed over into South Dakota! It’s starting to get colder and rain is spattering my visor. I’m beginning to really hate the rain. Last night in Blue Mounds all I heard was distant thunder and the sky was flashing like a war zone. No rain came, but the wind was getting scary. Here in SD it’s very calm, but grim looking.

Stopping in Mitchell, home of the world’s ONLY corn palace, for dome BBQ. I was hoping to find a restaurant that serves buffalo steaks, but this’ll do.

Pirogues BBQ has an interesting approach to serving ribs. They charge you by weight! You ask for half a slab, they weigh it, then charge you $8.95 a pound! Yeesh. I got 2 sides, baked beans and bread pudding. Beans are great. Bread pudding isn’t making me sing its virtues to the world. The rubs are quite tasty. Still not as good as mine.

Naturally, when I show up to the Corn Palace, it’s under construction. They change the murals and the design of the patterns once a year. Of course it’s the day I arrive with my iPhone ready to impress!

Interesting thing about the Corn Palace, 200 days out of the year, the place is a basketball arena. Who woulda thought?

This state is quite pretty. Rolling green hills that go on for miles. Was a nice change from Minnesota’s mind numbingly boring landscape. Even do, the endlessness of it all lulls you into a deep sleep, likely to kill the unsuspecting motorcyclist. That is until you find something like this!

Or this crazy thing…

Whatever you do, avoid this place like the plague! I know the clever signs for 300 miles will intrigue you. Don’t do it! It’s like Virginia City crammed into a bad bit of architecture.

I finally got some buffalo. Man, Wall Drug really sucks. The 5 cent coffee is just brown water, too!

The place does have. Shop that sells crap like this…

And their attempt at selling Jesus seems to have fallen flat. Not one visitor!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to South Dakota At Last!

  1. Coral says:

    Jack, did you let them know how to improve their ribs!!?? I believe your ribs are the best!! Did you visit the sculpture of the head of four American presidents? (Is it in South Dakota?)

    • heartajack says:

      Yes. Mt Rushmore. Saw the lighting up ceremony they do every night at 9pm. Was good timing, I had just set up my camp and had plenty of time to get up the mountain.

Leave a Reply

