Minnesota Miles

Hit Minnesota at around 85mph sometime in the neighborhood of 5:20. Just stopped at the Blue Eath rest area to see a man about a horse.


Goddamned bugs are aggressive here!

Blue Mounds State Park is my goal for tonight. I hope I can make it before dark!

Minnesota is pretty flat and a good amount of it seems to be farmland, but it is quite beautiful.

Decided to call it a night at around 8:30 or 9 o’clock. Thw sun was still out and I figured I’d like to pit up a tent in daylight for a change. I found the small town of Luverne and bought myself some wine at a friendly little liquor store. Yellow Tail Cabernet Sauvignon.

The Blue Mounds State Park is only 5 miles outside of Luverne. There’s supposed to be buffalo in this park!

I never seem to show up at these sites when the staff is around. Night check in at these parks is always hinky. The sign at the ranger station says to check the “available campsites” map, but it’s no where to be found. I hail down a weathered looking guy on a mountain bike, that happens to be riding past me, and ask him what’s what. He points me to where the camp grounds are and where the buffalo usually hang out. I’d fill out the registration card at the ranger station but there’s no pen! I drive through the park and ask a couple of young guys setting up a tent where the rest of the tent sites are. They’re friendly but clueless. This park has tents and rv hookup sites mixed together, apparently. Some are reserved spots and others are first come first served. I picked a spot away from the big garbxge dumpster. It’s quiet and near a stream. You won’t see the stream in this shot.

I need to fill out this form to keep the rangers from hog tying me and dragging me through the mud in the morning, but I have no pen! I see a guy in another lot sitting at a picnic table, so I rush on over there. He’s a heavy set middle aged guy with some tragic acne mutilation about his face. He says “damn right I got a pen for a fellow rider!” He yells into his Winnebago for his wife to get him “…the blue ballpoint. Goddamnit, the one on the dashboard! Yes! In the drink holder! Right there!!!!” I sit at his picnic table filling out my registration form and also playing the part of a can-am salesman. He leaves me with this nice tidbit “I see you’re tenting it, there’s supposed to be torrential rain tonight, so you might want to be ready to run for the bathroom tonight!” Awesome!

Tent is up, unfortunately it’s too dark to get a nice shot of it.

Kept up my new campsite tradition, Indian food and a bottle of wine.

Camping is fun, but the damn bugs are obnoxious as all hell.

I finish my food and watch the sky. I’m hoping the torrential rain doesn’t come, but I see flashes in the sky. Distant lightning? I still see stars in the sky, I hope that storm stays in the distance!

My chosen site next to the shrubs and a creepy path into the forest.

Scary path lead to a nice little secluded area with a view of the prairie.

Visitors in the night trying to tag along. An albino black widow? No idea!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minnesota Miles

  1. Barbara says:

    Isn’t it Wyoming that doesn’t have a speed limit? Or maybe it’s Montana. You could make good time….

Leave a Reply

