Iowa!

Made it to Iowa! It looked pretty grim rolling in. Rain seems to be following me everywhere in the Midwest. Stopped at a rest area to take a load of my ass. It’s been 4 days since I had to ride this hard. I’m a lightweight.

Figured I’d snack a little and try out the goodies from Trader Joes. Would be perfect if they were dipped in chocolate!

As is my luck, the rain started dumping 15 miles outside Iowa City. Had to put on the rain gear before I got soaked couldn’t find my new $70 gloves, the trunk is filling up with water like we’re in a biblical flood. Crazy.

Took me 10 minutes to get all this crap on, so naturally the sun comes out, the rain stops, and the heat rises!

I think I got to Bill’s house around 7:30 or so. I last saw Bill for about 45 minutes when I was driving with my mom when she moved from Chicago to Reno. Before that, it was like 1994! Bill had a steak and potato waiting for me. I’d just missed eating with him and his wife by 20 minutes. Bummer. I should have been rolling in to town around 5ish. Oh, well. Hours turn into days on a motorcycle, it seems.

Bill and Brook…

They hooked me up with a sweet air mattress and endless entertainment possibilities. TiVo, AppleTV, Netflix, PS3, even a box of comics! The basement was quiet and you’d never know there was a 3 year old and a new born upstairs. Great accomidations, thanks Bill!

Bill and Grant and the Spyder.

All maturity aside, this cracked me up…

At the Kum and Go station, this guy Ron comes up to me and asks if I’ll be around for a few minutes. He runs back to his van and brings back a binder folder full of printouts of his custom bikes and cars. He wanted to show me the badass bike he built.

Taking a gas and water break in Waverly. It’s not very sunny but it is hot. Not sure this photo gives a complete sense of the sweaty misery I’m in. Good lord.

Once again, my food obsession causes me to make a stop. This time at The Cow Pie & Coffee Shoppe inside an Iowa rest area visitor center. The Fruits of the Forest Pie, a slab of vanilla ice cream, and a nice cup of coffee for $4.50! Damn good!

I took this earlier in the day at one of the gas stations. It proves you can find a vending machine for any of your needs.

Google Maps tells me I’m 9 hours away from Mt Rushmore. Bummer. I might be able to make it to Sioux Falls, South Dakota before it gets too dark. I’d go longer but I left my damn clear visor in Chicago! Argh!

The outside of the rest area/visitor center.

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iowa!

  1. Bill says:

    Hey, no problem. Stop in anytime! The first thing Edison said when I picked him up today was if Jack was still at home. And I’m just glad you didn’t take any photos of the pigsty office or show the other movie posters on the other side of the room. I’d lose serious street cred if you did.

Leave a Reply

