Chicago Family and Whatnot!

After lunch with my sister and a trip to Woodfield I headed back to the city. Good god! The traffic in this city blows! I-94 merges with I-90 at the same point the toll booth tries to force 8 lanes into 3. It’s a nightmare!

I hung out with my sister-in-law Kathy for a few hours, just catching up. It seems like years since I’ve been with the family. Nice to see everyone is still nuts.

My niece Aarika came over to see me and introduced her boyfriend, Ricardo. He seems like a really nice kid. Aarika is as awesome as ever and makes me wish I could hang our some more on this trip. The 2000 miles I’ve got left on this trip says I don’t have time to daudle!

My brother Greg showed up a bit later and got to talking about work. Sounds like his Whole Foods job is working out pretty well. Ah, work. I forgot about that part of my life. Wonder if the company has hired a few more VPs to manage hiring more VPs? I kid the company, I kid.

And then there’s Dave. Don’t get me started on Dave.

My big project today is to find waterproof motorcycle gloves. I stopped at Champion Cycles. Wow, forgot what a dump that place is. Yeesh. Not one person working in that place offered any assistence.

On to the next joint, but wait! What’s that over there?! It’s the Borinquen Lounge! Home of the jibarito, a plantain sandwich. I have to have one.

On the menu there was an appetizer called Banana Dumpling. A deep fried thing. Has banana and some kind of ground meat mixture.

Next up, the jibarito sandwich made with pork. The plantains are fried, then flattened, then fried again and used as the bread portion of the sandwich. Quite delicious. Very garlicky.

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicago Family and Whatnot!

  1. Coral says:

    Jack, you look pretty happy in those photos!! What are you going to snack/eat today!!??!!?? Upload some photos of Chicago hotdog or other specialties!!

    Coral

  2. Barbara says:

    Looks like you’re having fun with the family. 🙂

    • heartajack says:

      So far so good. It’s been a while since I’ve been back to the city. Kinda looking forward to the last leg of the trip. So much more to see! I’m also starting to miss my animals.

  3. Brian Krueger says:

    That food looks great.Great photos too. I really miss the cross country trip I had years ago.

    • heartajack says:

      It has been quite the adventure. I just hope I don’t run out of money! Looking forward to the last leg of the trip through South Dakota and Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

