Northward!

Today it’s cloudy in Austin. A possible repreave from the heat? Paul tells me it’s a 40% chance of rain in Memphis which either means blissfully cool or horribly humid on my trip.

I decided to call my eye doctor to see if he could email me my prescription so I can get glasses made today. Not sure I really want to drive without them.

Thanks to Lenscrafters and Dr. Mitchell in Reno, I now have a snazzy new pair of glasses. I’ll miss the old ones, but these aren’t too bad.

Hung out with Paul for the afternoon. Mostly staying indoors enjoying the air conditioning. Packed my clothed into the new bigger stuff sack that I got at REI and loaded up the bike. Said goodbye to Paul and Wade’s super friendly animals and hit the road! Thanks guys, for showing me good, if brief, time in Austin!

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Northward!

  1. Wade Williams says:

    See ya Jack! It was great visiting with you again. Come back anytime.

  2. Coral says:

    Hey, Jack,

    Your new glasses look stylish!! I am glad to know that you had a good time visiting an old friend!

    Coral

  3. Coral says:

    I was a little bit confused. But now I understand. You lost your glasses, but you just got another pair/ Hmm…I think this one looks nice! STYLISH!

    • heartajack says:

      Ah, yes, the newest posts are above the old posts, so I can see where you got confused.

      New glasses fit pretty good and cost half what my last pair cost. It’s nice to be able to see clearly again.

  4. Swifty says:

    Go Jack-Racer, Go Jack-Racer, Go Jack-Racer, Go! Ah, just look at our little Jack, he’s all growed up. I lived in Dallas for 5 months, hated everything except Deep Ellum. On to Memphis?! Home of Elvis’s deep-fried Peanut Butter and Banana samwich!!
    “Mama! Mama! You still in the kitchen? Mebbe you could whip me up another one o’ them Peanut Butter and Banana samwiches. And don’t skimp on the oil. The King has a hankerin’!!!!”

    • heartajack says:

      Ha. I’m just glad the rain let up. Dallas traffic was a nice bit of foreshadowing for when I hit Chicago. The humidity out here is way up, but the clouds are keeping in cool. I’m hoping to find some good food somewhere in Texas. Don’t think I can wait for the peanut butter and banana sandwiches in Memphis.

Leave a Reply

