Austin and I’m Still Alive

Got to Austin at 6:30. Staying at my old friend Wade’s house. Haven’t seen him in 14 years! How time slips away from us. It’s funny to see how gray we’ve all gotten. I started the evening festivities with a shower! Never underestimate the reviving qualities of a nice hot shower.

Next we went to an incredible restaurant called East Side Show Room. I had myself a Leguardia Manhattan and nibbled at a mixed platter of goat cheese, pork paté, pork rillette, and some pickled carrot chavings, while we waited for our table. In the dining area a small band was playing music that wouldn’t be out of place on Prairie Home Companion. Here’s Wade, the only picture I got that night. Too much atmospheric lighting for my poor iPhone.

I had a Coq au Vin Blanc, made with white wine instead of the usual red wine. Absolutely outstanding. Even the gristle chewed up nice! It really isn’t a dish I should’ve been eating in the brutal heat, but it was worth it.

Next, Wade’s friend Paul took us to Cheer Up Charlie’s for “Bears vs Gaysians”. Quite the colorful crowd of characters and some fun DJing. We also met up with Bobby, another friend I haven’t seen in 14 years. He’s not the funky club kid I remember from the Chicago days.

Next to the bar there were various food trucks, not your typical roach coaches by any stretch. One was serving Vietnamese food and there was a doubledecker bus that served cheesburgers. Cool scene. By the time we left I was pleasanty tipsy and ready to crash.

Wade and Paul fixed up the guest room for me and I slept like the dead. Their cat, Mr. Computers, kept me company and slept on top of me all night long. Made me miss my animals.

About heartajack

I'm a graphic designer and occasional filmmaker that recently discovered the awesomeness that is the Can-Am Spyder Roadster. In recent years I've become obsessed with food and learning how to prepare it. I make the best damn ribs...EVER.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

